Not getting what you want?

Today the Dalai Lama turns 80 years old. I do not follow one religion or spiritual belief to the tee but I do think he is a wise wise man with some very amazing things to say about getting to that special place- happiness. Because at the end of the day isn’t that every human beings goal? To be happy in this journey called life! 

“Remember that not getting what you want is sometimes a wonderful stroke of luck.” Quote from Dalai Lama.

I truly believe that not getting what you want or walking along a path you never expected shows you different kinds of happiness and moments you miss if you spend too much time worrying about what was lost. I feel that if I spent or spend too much time worrying about things lost I will never truly reach my happy place. Instead I pack up the tools I learn along the way and enjoy the small slivers of happiness. Today the things that made me happy-

1. I celebrate 7 months of being married. It’s been a challenge but I am delighted to wake up next to my hubby no matter what.

2. The chill in the air after a day in a closed up office, so refreshing and a gentle reminder of being alive, and oh how grateful I am to be alive.

3. Laughing until it hurt with my work friends. Memories along the road make for truly laughable times. 

4. My yummy roast lamb. I am so happy my Mum taught us girls how to cook. It means we never eat boring and it’s my creative outlet.

I know if I try hard enough I can see the tiny cracks in anything but today my focus is happy. To hell with the magnify glass I am looking at today at the pieces in the puzzle that make those cracks seem like speckles of glitter. 

Today my outfit was something that didn’t need ironing. It was also colourful which is something that draws happy vibes to me. If your outfit dances with colour then it shines on the inside too.  

       

Leave a Reply

